Lovestoned

images
My heart is in pain
Am all alone
Even though you lay close to me
The gap, the distance;
So overwhelming
Yet I can afford to smile
I can afford
To drink away to my troubles

At first it was suspicion
Now a certainty
At first I could assume
Now I can see
I was always here
Where you never wanted me
Now that I know
I can drink away to my troubles

Love never escaped your lips
The sincerity was scarce
Yet I hoped and prayed
For all the paranoia to cease
I trusted you
I needed to be with you
Not anymore
For I can drink away to my troubles

I can drink away the details
Of how we met
For now I realize
Anyone could have met you that way
It was special then
Not any bit more
And I can drink away to that too

Staring at this brew in hand
Sweeter than any moment we shared
The potent color
More conspicuous than your smile
Where I said I wanted you
I need it more
Where I couldn’t do without you
I have it to make me forget
To help me drink away to my troubles

Cheers to you sweetheart
And to all the promises you made
Cheers to the passionate lovemaking
And the later gasps of satisfaction
Cheers to all the plastic moments
For now I know they were
And I can drink away to my troubles

I won’t stay sober no more
For then I will grieve
Thinking of what we could have had
I won’t stay sane
For I dread reliving your touch
Your voice, your fragrance
All I want
Is to drink away to my troubles

Thereafter I can smile
Put on my suit, and smile at the mirror
I can look deep into my soul
And admit so painfully yet truthfully
Just how much I miss you
But until then,
Please,
Let me drink away to my troubles.

Ooko Victor

4 thoughts on “Lovestoned

Have your say...

