As I Lay Here

image

As I Lay here
Stuffed and fitted
In this six sided box
My mind a blank contrast
Of the once sharp chap you knew

My Soul hovers around
Friends and family engrossed
In tears and hearty sobs for me
I look back at the life I lived
Amongst you my beloved
The problems I had to endure
The misery my final days became
All of which I braved alone
While busy you were
Not bothered in the least
With my miserable desperate life

Today my compound is full
Today my home hosts a feast
Funeral expenses that surpass
my lifelong debts
Yet raised in a whiff upon news
Of my demise
Is this my good riddance party?
The eventuality of another mole
Off your backs?
Or was my life of real value
As your apparent commitment alludes?

I had thought I would rot at home
Where you found me, alone and gone
Yet I was kept in the best of morgues
Paid for in full upon entry
By ‘friends and well wishers’!
Humans are diabolical!
Friends and family; a title
And all intentions an act
Appearances to boost one’s status
Perfected upon my timely demise

Did you know that I was you?
Alive, kicking and scheming?
Smiling at the mirror
As I dressed every morning?
And now I lay here
Lifeless and out for disposal
Today, another day is my day
And you can hardly stare at me
For a moment or two
Well…
Look well
For I was once what you are
And you will become what I am

Ooko Victor

Posted from WordPress for Android

3 thoughts on “As I Lay Here

  1. I would like to express some appreciation to this writer just for rescuing me from such a challenge. As a result of searching out by means of the internet and getting techniques that were not valuable, I was thinking my entire life was more than. Being alive without the approaches towards the difficulties you’ve sorted out by way of this posting is actually a serious case, as effectively as the kind that would have badly damaged my career if I had not encountered your web site. Your know-how and kindness in taking care of plenty of points was excellent. I’m not confident what I would’ve done if I hadn’t come upon such a step like this. I’m able to at this time look ahead to my future. Thanks for your time so much for this skilled and effective help. I will not hesitate to endorse your internet sites to any individual who need to get care on this difficulty.

    Like

Have your say...

